Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Deploying client settings

It's not only possible to deploy a set of folders to clients by using the profile feature, e.g. for client backup or sharing and setting up folders automatically on the client, but also to pre-configure clients by deploying general settings. Those settings can be defaults for new installations or be enforced, overwriting local setting changes.

Everytime the client starts, it pulls a default configuration file from the server and compares the settings specified there to its local settings. If defined, it will overwrite local settings with the settings specified in that file.

Location of the default client configuration file

The default client configuration file is located in the client_deployment directory of the Server Maintenance Folder and is called Default.config.

Overview


Changing settings in the default client configuration file

Basically you can add whatever settings the client supports.

For a list of supported settings you can check out the ConfigurationEntry.java and the PreferencesEntry.java file on GitHub as parts of the client source code are Open Source.

Overwriting local changes on the client

To overwrite local changes on the client, please change the following entry in the Default.config:

config.overwrite=true

To not overwrite local changes on the client, please change the following entry in the Default.config:

config.overwrite=false

Useful examples for client settings

Adding a shortcut fo the favorites

The client usually creates a shortcut to the default folder path in the Windows Explorer's Favorites. To disable it:

pref.use.pf.link=false

Automatically sync online folders

The client automatically starts syncing folders available online to the local disk by default. To disable it:

auto.setup.account.folders=false

(lightbulb) If there is not enough disk space to sync all online folders to the local disk, the client will automatically set the parameter to false.


Disabling client-side folder mapping

Some folders with names related to Windows user directories (e.g. Documents) are mapped automatically to the corresponding folder in the user home directory, if the synchronization is started for that folder. To disable it:

create.folder.map.user.directories=false

 

Enabling the beginner mode

The beginner mode provides only the most basic operation elements in the client user interface, hiding everything else which could confuse users.

(Warnung) Please note that the beginner mode restricts users to only create folders in the default folder path (on current Windows systems C:\Users\<Username>\PowerFolders). All folders already existing outside the default folder path will be ignored when deploying this setting to existing clients and enforcing it with config.overwrite=true.

To enable the beginner mode in the client:

pref.BeginnerMode=true
pref.ExpertMode=false

Forcing users to update their clients

When the client starts it check if it's on the latest version. If not, it will issue a notification to the user. It's also possible to force users to update. If they don't, the client will not continue working.

update.force=true

Hiding hidden files in the file browser

The client shows hidden files in the internal client file browser. To disable it:

pref.show.hidden.files=false

Hiding user interface elements

It's possible to hide certain elements of the user interface like the files, members, problems and settings tab:

files.enabled=false
members.enabled=false
problems.enabled=false
settings.enabled=false
webdav.enabled=false

Restricting the creation of folders to the default folder path

The client allows by default to create or share folders outside of the default folder path. In some environments this might not be wanted, since users could also share their whole Desktop, Documents or even network drives. To prevent that:

create.folder.basedir.only=true
  • No labels